Sweet treats without the sugar!

I can’t believe it’s February and I haven’t written a blogpost yet this Year, shocking! Time, it just goes too fast.

I’m not ashamed to say that my lack of posts has been down to no time and my ridiculous fascination with being perfect. Being a true Virgo (if you believe in all that) means my perfectionist nature really does get in the way sometimes. That and not really getting the great ‘Ooh, it’s the New Year’ boost I was expecting and therefore sinking into the January Blues hole that seems to take so many of us…..Well, says it all really. Thank goodness for journaling and my new glasses!

The one thing that hasn’t suffered is my cooking, thank goodness. My happy place really is the kitchen and not in a ‘I’m chained to the kitchen sink, in a 50’s style’ kind of way, but in a joyous, creating more yummy recipes kind of way. I’ve certainly had to get creative with my sons idea of eating. Sneaking 8 million veggies into my pasta sauce and no refined sugar into his sweet snacks, the latter being the hardest by the way. Sugar honestly is the devil and minutes after my son has it, he turns into some kind of Tasmanian devil. It ain’t pretty, I can tell you.

Healthy krispie cakes

These were yummy!!

Lovely with a creamy organic coffee 🙂

People laugh at me when I say you can make healthy chocolate or healthy sweet treats that actually taste good. I just shove one of my caramel slices at them or a choc pot and wait for the ‘Are you sure there’s no sugar in this?!’ Don’t get me wrong, I do add dates and mainly maple syrup to my food, which are sweet, so you need to be careful about cramming the whole tin in your mouth at once. This would not be good. I use natural ingredients though, with nutritional properties and no nasties. Soooooo much better and tastier in my opinion.

Give them a try, I promise you won’t be disappointed:)

Short but ever so sweet post tonight…..I promise I’ll be back soon. Have a great week xxx

Leave a comment