The ups and downs of living with chronic pain…

It’s been a while since I’ve blogged and there are a good few reasons why. I live, like we all do, day to day, ‘getting on with it’ but sometimes the pain just gets the better of me. It wipes me out and leaves me feeling utterly unable to function. Chronic Migraines are totally debilitating, they are the enemy and I despise them.

The hard part is never really knowing when one might sneak up on me. This weekend we went to see The Stone Roses, I woke up so exited and full of beans, but by 1 o’clock I could feel a twinge in my right eye. I tried to ignore it, hoping it would just go away but alas, no. I was determined to watch the band, so we did. I managed most of the gig but the pain was unbearable and we had to leave early. It’s times like those that really get to me. I mean, why did I have to get another migraine??

I’m angry, can you tell………

At least I’m seeing a neurologist soon……well I say that, but the waiting time is 3 months and even then you have to travel to a hospital in Timbuktu to be seen! I’m not saying I have some inexplicable illness, but wouldn’t mind ruling a few things out.

We will see and in the meantime, like anyone living with chronic pain, I will nobly pull myself together and give a good smile and chat to those I meet.


It’s not all bad though, my love of creative cooking was born from these heads of mine. Forever in pursuit of answers, I’ve loved researching, creating and eating of course, foods that help prevent migraines. And in doing so, have discovered a love affair with food.


Raw salted caramel and chocolate slices

Cutting out refined sugar was a revelation. No longer do I have blood sugar spikes and my energy levels are far better than they’ve ever been. Of course, good healthy fats have a lot to do with that too. I always eat fat and protein first thing now. Before I would eat fruit thinking it was a healthy option and don’t get me wrong, fruit is fab in small doses but definitely not something to be eaten first thing. Even natural sugars can spike blood sugar levels, leaving your body fighting to keep up with itself all day. Which would explain low energy and hyperglycaemia. Whereas healthy fats and protein keeps your body going at a regular pace.


Herby broccoli rice and stuffed peppers 


So not much of a blog but a rant. Sometimes we really do need to though, don’t you think? The Summer Sun and spending heady (pardon the pun) evenings down the beach has been such a help, so let’s rejoice in that for now 🙂


I’d be so happy to hear from any other sufferers out there. Feel free to comment or message me.

Lots of love to you all cxxx

7 thoughts on “The ups and downs of living with chronic pain…

  1. alyssabowman says:

    Headaches are definitely horrible to deal with. Chronic pain is miserable. I have MS and sometimes feel so alone with what I go through. This blog has given me some home and connections with others that understand. I look forward to reading more of your posts. I recently started my blog. My goals are to help people who have battled Multiple Sclerosis for years or have been recently diagnosed. I want to be an inspiration for others and be encouraging when hope seems to have been lost, as I totally understand that feeling. I am trying to build my blog and would really appreciate it if you would follow my blog so I can increase my network to achieve my goals. Thank you so much!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

