As weeks go….

As weeks go…This one started out so well. I had great hopes for a fun packed, fly by the seat of your pants time. However, my head had other plans. On Monday I powerwalked to the sea and felt truly exhilarated. Walking is so good for you, it gets the muscles moving and the endorphins pumping, without putting too much stress on your joints. It’s definitely my happy place. Especially when the beach is your backdrop. Vitamin D from the rays and a smile on my face, I trotted back home.

And then it all went wrong. The reason, or one of the main reasons why I started writing and blogging about food and lifestyle is my diagnosis of peri-menopause. About 4 Years ago I started getting acute migraines, completely debilitating ones. After 2 trips to hospital and countless drugs later, I’d had enough. After seeing the wonderful medical herbalist and nutritionist Afifah Hamilton *. I started to look at what foods to eat and what foods to eliminate. Therin began my wonderful food journey, and for the most part, it totally works. Every now and then though, I get one. The migraine. Those that suffer, I feel your pain, I really do.

So by Monday afternoon, I had one, the mothership of headaches, a humdinger! In a very Victorian manner ‘I took to my bed’ And stayed there.

Coming out the other side, I am usually ravenous. All I can think about is stuffing my face. And that is exactly what I did.


This pot of crushed up protein ball, seeds,  nuts, puréed pear and natural yoghurt, was utterly delicious and much needed. I threw a few chia seeds in too. Sooooo yummy.


By Wednesday afternoon, my head had cleared a little and my beloved and I wandered to our beach. My Mum came with us and we all just revelled at the glistening sea and warm air. It did me the World of good.

Back to stuffing ones face…..


ALMOND CRUSTED COD WITH BROCCOLI RICE 

This is such a delicious meal and so easy to make. It really is.

Ingredients 

2 large cod fillets (cut into slices/chunks width ways)

1  1/5 cup ground almonds (not too fine, you want them crunchy)

1 egg ( beaten)

1 whole head of broccoli (blended)

1/5 a head of cauliflower (blended)

2 tbsp coconut oil

Salt and pepper

1 tbsp dried mixed herbs

Garnish 
1 tbsp coconut oil

1 large red onion (chopped)

1 leek (sliced)

About 8 baby on the vine tomatoes

1tsp cinnamon

Salt and pepper

Method 

Pre-heat your oven to 200 fan asst

Prepare your chopped cod by covering in egg, then rolling in your almond meal. Leave to one side and pop a baking tray with the coconut oil on, in the oven for about 3 minutes. Until it’s melted.

Once melted, place your cod on the tray and bake for about 25/30 mins. Turning once. You want the outside to be nice and crunchy/crispy.

Whilst your fish is baking, cook your broccoli rice. I added some cauliflower too. For added taste and colour. Cook in a tbsp of coconut oil and the herbs, salt and pepper. Stirring every now and then, cook for about 25/30 mins on a medium heat.

For the garnish, just throw all your ingredients in a small pan and cook on a low heat until your ready to serve.

I served it with a lemon mayo, which gave it a bit of a zing.

So to the now….All has been restored and my head is behaving once again. It’s amazing what some tasty but nutritious food can do for you.

‘Now get thee to bed’ I won’t argue with that!!!

Cxx
*Afifah Hamilton-rosemarycottageclinic.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

