Mid-week slump! 

I’m writing this, slumped on my little ones floor, waiting for him to go to sleep. We’ve all been a little discombobulated this week, due to me falling foul of the lurgy. I thought I’d escaped it, but no, it has taken over my body and my brain in a snotty, achey and rather annoying way. I have found that I am not a good ill person at all and just feel frustrated that I can’t do anything and everyone around me pays for this. Thankfully, help was on hand today in the form of my Mum and a good friend. This enabled me to have a rest and a meditate and to give myself a jolly good talking to. After which I cooked some tasty comfort food, using my celebrated vegetable no less, The beloved Swede. Thank goodness that’s the veg of the week, given the current crisis going on in Spain and the major lack of veg like Courgette and peppers. Apparently it’s because of freak weather conditions in southern Spain causing the shortages. This means an increase in price for the foreseeable future, which isn’t good at all.

But for today, the Swede prevails…..


SWEDE CHIPS

A simple classic and my go-to comfort food. Swede chips are sooooo good. Cooked in coconut oil, Himalayan sea salt and cracked black pepper. I inhale them, to be honest.

Ingredients 

All you need is a large Swede, peeled and cut into chips.

1 tbsp coconut oil

Salt and pepper

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 180 fan/

Pop your Swede in water and bring to the boil, cook for about 36/40 mins. Drain well, I sometimes dry them off with kitchen roll.  Whilst your boiling your Swede, put the coconut oil on your baking tray and pop it in the oven to heat the oil up. Coat the Swede with the oil, salt and pepper them and cook until they are crispy, golden brown. About 20 mins.

They are really nice with fish, steak or on their own, dipped in lemon mayo.

They certainly did the trick today and although my nose is still streaming, my tummy is feeling satisfied and I am a happy me.

I’m off to catch up on Westworld. Being poorly definitely equals curling up under a duvet and watching box sets. If you haven’t seen this yet, watch it. It’s fantastic, surreal, with a great plot and fantastic actors……happy Wednesday to you all.

Cx

2 thoughts on “Mid-week slump! 

    • healthyhubuk says:

      Hey there,
      Sorry for taking so long to get back to you. I do not eat pineapple, purely based on its sugar content. It is full of nutrients though, so I’m sure in small amounts it would be fine 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

