Swede by Beed is all you need! 

So, to the Swede. A very underrated vegetable in my opinion. Before I began my ketogenic journey, I honestly had never really given much thought towards other carbohydrates. I simply thought that potato was the only carb one used to mash or roast or use as a topping. How naive I was. Swede is so tasty, low in carbs and looks vibrant on the plate. It’s an all round winner in my eyes.

So I simply have to celebrate it. There are so many ways to cook it and lots of herbs and spices that compliment it.

Tonight I am sharing my recipe for the old classic cottage pie. Instead of mashed potato, I use mashed Swede and cheddar and it is delicious. So here goes…..

COTTAGE PIE TOPPED WITH MASHED SWEDE, CHEDDAR AND PAPRIKA 

INGREDIENTS 

400g Organic beef mince

1 tbsp Coconut oil

1 large red onion

1 medium carrot (I tend to steer clear of carrots, because of the carb content but given Swede is being used, I figured I’d allow for one in this dish).

Handful of chestnut mushrooms

400g carton of tomatoes

1 pint of stock (I use veg stock but you can use meat stock, if you prefer).

Salt and pepper

2 tsp dried mixed herbs

A small bunch of fresh thyme

Topping

1 large Swede (peeled and diced)

1 tsp salt

1 cup of grated organic mature cheddar

1 tsp paprika

A knob of pure salted butter
Method 

Pre-heat your oven to 180 fan asst/ 200c/gas mark 6 

I like to cook my mince off first, otherwise I find the mixture becomes oily. Fry it off, drain and leave to one side.

Heat the coconut oil in a large pan and add the onion, carrot and mushrooms. Cook for about 3 minutes and then add the mince, dried herbs, salt and pepper. Fry off for about 5 minutes. Popthe tomatoes, stock and thyme in, cover and simmer for about 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, make your Swede topping. Boil the Swede in water until its soft. This can take quite some time, so maybe start this before making your beef mixture. Once boiled, make sure you drain well. Then mash it up with a little knob of pure butter.

Pop your mixture into an ovenproof dish. I make individual bakes as my son loves it this way. Top with the Swede, grated cheese and sprinkle the paprika over. Bake for about 30 minutes, until golden brown.

It really is a taste sensation & one I hope you all enjoy making. Cx

Leave a Reply

