Thank goodness it’s Friday! 

This week has been one heck of a week. What with new teeth, zero sleep and 6 Year old negotiations sending me potty, my insanity levels, I think, have been reached. So, Friday, I welcome you with open arms.

We kind of relax on a Friday and today B decided he wanted to go to the bank and buy something for his Nanna and Grandad. Which we did and they were very pleased with the spiralizer we bought them. My Dad is on a ketogenic diet due to health issues and I think the spiralizer will be a welcome addition to there kitchen.

So, to food and the glorious cauliflower. I’ve loved celebrating this delicious vegetable this week. My family have enjoyed tasting all the meals too, so a result all round. Tonight, I’m going to share my Cauliflower pizza recipe. It is soooooo tasty and really easy to make.


CAULIFLOWER BASE PIZZA

Ingredients 

Pizza Base

1 large Cauliflower (blitzed in a food processor until a fine mixture)

2 Eggs (beaten)

1/4 cup of almond flour

2 tsp dried herbs (I use herb de Provence or basil)

Sea salt and pepper

2 tbsp coconut oil

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 180 fan/400f/200c

Cook your Cauliflower in a pan of coconut oil for about 10 minutes. Drain well, let it cool and then get as much moisture out as possible. I put it in a tea-towel and ring it like mad!

Put all the other ingredients in a bowl and  add the cauliflower. Mix well.


Transfer to a baking tray and mould into a pizza shape.I also put baking parchment down, to prevent the base from sticking. Bake for about 15 minutes. Take it out and then add your pizza topping of choice. I used a simple tomato based sauce (recipe below) with loads of cheddar cheese on top, but you can use mozarella and Parmesan, if you’d prefer. Or all three.


Bake for a further 15 minutes or until it is crispy and golden.

Serve with salad or just on its own and enjoy 🙂


Tomato sauce

Ingredients 

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 Red onion chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

1 Courgette chopped

A good handful of mushrooms

2tsp dried mixed herbs

1/2 tsp cinnamon

A big bunch of fresh basil

400g carton of tomatoes

1 pint of stock

Salt and pepper

Method 

Literally throw all the vegetables into a pan with the coconut oil and the dried herbs and fry off for about 10 minutes. Add the tomatoes, stock, fresh basil, cinnamon,  salt and pepper and cook on a medium-high heat for about 40 minutes, or until the sauce is nice and thick. I take about half of the mixture and blitz it up, making a kind of passata. Then add a little bit of the chunkier mixture on top.

I tend to batch cook this sauce and use it for the base to a lot of my dishes.


Have a great Weekend and please feel free to comment below, Cx

4 thoughts on “Thank goodness it’s Friday! 

Leave a Reply

